What is the best visual medium?

As someone who has enjoyed both the highest quality of western television to which I have found not only great entertainment but which have also personally influence my own beliefs. Yet if I had to choose between all the western shows, and anime I would have to still choose anime. Most of the time the shows are cliche and filled with the same tropes, but ever so often I find a gem that truly touches my heart. It’s not an industry that is as big as Hollywood or the big television networks of America. Overall I would have to say that western movies and television have overall more quality and meaningful stories. I probably have a preferential favoritism because anime does let me see the world in a different societies perspective. Granted there is much about the culture I don’t agree with, but nevertheless, I feel like there is something learn about ourselves in that.

I’ve also been a part of the gaming culture growing up, but unlike the gaming culture, the anime culture in the west is not mainstream it is not considered mainstream Japan as it is considered a bit niche. Granted there are differences between a casual, and a hardcore fan and when I say hardcore I don’t mean those who merely play more games than most, but people who understand the industry, culture, and its history. Putting gaming aside for now for which I could write an entire article for, and returning to the topic at hand. Anime has produced a handful of shows, and movies that I don’t think there are many western equivalents. I think it is particularly down to the medium itself. Unless you have a high budget for a movie or tv show it’s hard to create worlds that exist in the imagination. When you can merely draw (obviously there are computer enhancements involved in the modern day) it’s easier to build worlds that exist outside of the human mind. Worlds in which you can explore the deepest of the human aspects of the human soul. It’s why it’s such a shame that many just view it as weird, or merely a cartoon. Through all the junk one can find a silent beauty in it which can touch the hearts of the few who watch it. It is a shame that the industry often has to pander to those who only see the medium as a form of escapism because truly beautiful stories can sometimes be told only in through this art form.

There are some wonderful HBO, and AMC shows that truly do define the standard of quality what it means to have good writing. The themes that humans tackle are universal, but it is amazing how we can go about them in different ways. In a world where anime is often discredited, I feel like I should make my stand, and vouch for the art form that I love.

There is something truly intrinsically beautiful in drawing or painting. Art is something to be appreciated in my opinion. For those who haven’t enjoyed anime, I recommend you have an open mind, and give it a shot. If you are trying to avoid the “harem romantic comedies” and just get the straight serious material. Merely ask and I can point you in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

